## League of Women Voters of Broward County 2023 Annual Meeting Minutes

The 70<sup>th</sup> annual meeting of the League of Women Voters of Broward County was called to order by President Monica Elliott at 10:02 AM, Saturday, April 29, 2023, on Zoom.

There were thirty-four members signed on: Monica Elliott, Bonnie Gross, Joanne Aye, Gloria Reinhardt, Patti Bartels, Carrie Roach, France Dumont, Carol Smith, Denise Elliott, Susan Spragg, Helen Goldenberg, Alexander Johnson, Janie Koszoro, Mary Figg, Patti Lynn, Denise McFall, Margie Rohrbach, Susan Mattes, KyShun Nicholas, Ana Segura, Maria Paul, Beth Nativ, Iris Convissar, Pamela Gibney, Alice Levy, Maggie Davidson, Maude King-Bruce, Linda Bloomfield, Kathleen McGrath, Jocelyn Carter-Miller, Linda Thigpen, Donna Meyers, Cathy Neubauer, and Margot Lancaster. A quorum was declared.

A moment of silence was observed in memory of Margaret McGrath who passed away on January 27, 2023. A special fund within the LWVBC Education Fund called the Margaret McGrath Leadership Education Program was announced. Donations will be used to prepare LWVBC members for 'a year of service' and they would agree to take a leadership role in the future.

Voting procedures were explained and a practice vote was conducted.

A motion to approve the Meeting Agenda was made by Margie Rohrbach and approved by a vote of 26 to 0.

Proposed Rules were reviewed, and Patti Lynn moved to adopt them. The motion passed by 20 to 0.

Denise Elliott was appointed as official recorder of this meeting and Carol Smith was appointed as the Parliamentarian.

Minutes of the 2022 Annual Meeting had been read, corrected and filed by Maggie Davidson and Janie Koszoru. They were included in the packet emailed to members on March 27 and April 21 and are also available on our website. Maggie Davidson and Maria Paul were appointed to read and correct the 2023 meeting minutes without objection.

President Monica Elliott gave the State of the League Report:

- The League was active in all phases of the 2022 election cycle during the past year.
- Special accomplishments of the Education, Reproductive Rights, Environmental, and Gun Violence Prevention Committees were highlighted. Various special presentations and Voter Services events were reported, along with the efforts of the Vote411 team. Monica also discussed the role of our Candidate Forums and Speakers' Bureau in educating voters in 2022. Our 'Get Out the Vote' efforts included partnerships with the Florida Voters Mobilization Project and Election Protection.
- A focus for the upcoming year will be the recruitment of young voters.
- As a tribute to all who participated, a video of "Applause" performed by Sofia Carson was played and the lyrics by Diane Warren were displayed.
- The members of the Board of Directors, Action Committee Chairs, other VIP Committee Chairs and Volunteers were recognized and thanked for their efforts. A special thank you was extended to Denise Elliott for her work on Club Express.
- This year's membership increased to 243 members, including six student members and seven
   Life Members. The dues for all membership levels included \$32 to the National League, \$15 to

the State League and \$13 to the LWV Broward. Members who join at levels above the Individual level have donated an additional \$5,000 to our operating fund.

Treasurer Gloria Reinhardt filed the Profit and Loss statement for the fiscal year 4/1/2022 through 3/31/2023. We had Income of \$32,208.32, Expenses of \$29,409.52 for a Net Profit of \$2,798.80. Current assets amount to \$43,992.16.

Gloria moved to adopt the 2023 - 2024 Budget as submitted by the Budget Committee, which called for \$25,000 in planned income and expenditures. After a discussion, Denise Elliott moved to amend the budget to transfer \$1,000 from Savings and adding \$1,000 to the planned expenses for Voter Services. The motion was seconded and passed. The 2023 - 2024 Budget was then approved as amended by a vote of 27 to 0.

Carol Smith presented the 2023 – 2024 Program for Study & Action recommendations:

- Voter Services adopted as presented by a 27 to 1 vote.
- Broward County Government A motion to remove the first bullet point, "Support of Charter changes to provide for an elected county executive, appointed county administrator, single-member districts and an increase in the number of commission seats based on future needs." was made by Patti Lynn and seconded by Jocelyn Carter-Miller. The motion passed by a vote of 14 to 12. Linda Thigpen, Jocelyn Carter-Miller, Carol Smith, and Patti Lynn volunteered to work on the review of the County Charter. The Broward County Government Action Program was adopted as amended by a vote of 22 to 1.
- Environmental Issues adopted 25 to 0 as presented.
- County-wide Library System adopted 25 to 0 as presented.
- Children's Issues adopted 25 to 0 as presented.
- Education A motion to amend the second bullet point of the program to read "Support accountability in all schools receiving public funds." was made by Linda Thigpen. The amendment passed. The program item Education was adopted as amended by a vote of 25 to 0.
- Women's Rights Issues adopted 25 to 0 as presented.
- Human Issues adopted 27 to 0 as presented.
- Gun Violence Prevention adopted as presented by a voice vote.

The motion by Carol Smith to adopt the entire proposed 2023-2024 Program for Study & Action as amended was passed by a vote of 26 to 0.

There were no bylaw changes proposed.

Bethann Nativ gave the nominating committee report. Nominations include:

- Monica Elliott and Margie Rohrbach as Co-Presidents for a one-year term.
- Gloria Reinhardt as Treasurer for a two-year term.
- Denise Elliott, Graciela Hopkins, Bethann Nativ and Stephanie Pearson as Directors for a twoyear term.
- Continuing through 2024 are Maria Paul as Vice President, Joan Sternberg as Secretary, Maggie Davidson, Alex Johnson, and Linda Thigpen as Directors.
- 2024 2025 Nominating Committee: Susan Spragg as Chair, Barbara Gingrande and Narnike Pierre-Grant.

There were no additional nominations from the floor.

The motion by Patti Lynn to approve the nominating ballot as the elective ballot passed by a majority vote of 26 to 0.

Carol Smith administered the oath of office to all Officers and Directors.

New Co-President Margie Rohrbach called for any questions, comments, or directions for the incoming Board:

- Helen Goldberg noted that in the past the League's participation in county elections resulted in sizable income for the League. She questioned whether this practice is continuing. Monica Elliott replied that unfortunately the Supervisor of Elections has discontinued hiring groups to help staff the polls. She noted however, that individuals may still work for the SOE and donate their earnings to LWVBC.
  - Helen also questioned the number of presentations available for our Speakers' Bureau to commit to monthly presentations. At least a dozen are shown on our website and more are available from the State League.
- Denise Elliott urged the Board to speak with one voice and market itself to the community, not
  just the people on our mailing list. She also suggested that a meeting of the Board and
  committee chairs be held to determine a specific goal for the year be agreed upon and then
  spend the money necessary to make it happen.
- Jocelyn Carter-Miller congratulated the newly elected Board members and thanked the many volunteers. She noted that the times require the Board to take bold steps to use all our resources to get people out to vote and educate them about the issues.

Monica Elliott announced that there are still postcards available to address to returning citizens. Members should contact her if they are interested in participating in this project.

A motion by Patti Lynn to adjourn at 12:02 pm was approved.

Respectfully submitted, Denise Elliott Meeting Recorder May 8, 2023

Amended & corrected May 17, 2023